Open Accessibility Menu

Scholarly Activities

Scholarly Activities

Our focus is on scholarly activity that has clinical impact or improves the system of care that patients and our caregivers work in. Quality improvement and implementation science are program areas of excellence. Here are some of our latest projects and participation.

August 2021

Sara Parent, Mick McDonnell, Casey Collins, MD and Amy Burns, MD presentation on "Implementing Contingency Management in the Clinic Setting" at 2021 AAAP Annual Meeting and Scientific Symposium.

January 2021

Tanya Keeble, MD, Rashi Aggarwal, MD, Rijul Asri, Aleander Mozeika, and Chun Tong accepted for publication of article "From Citation to Commendation: Resident Scholarly Activity" to Academic Psychiatry Journal.

December 2020

Hazel Brogden MD (PGY3) has been selected as a REACH scholar for next academic year.

The overall goal of the REACH training program is to: (1) Increase the overall number of racial and ethnic underrepresented minority (URM) addiction specialists in the Addiction Psychiatry and Addiction Medicine workforce, and (2) increase the number of addiction specialists adequately trained to work with racial and ethnic URM patients with substance use disorders (SUD).

Amy Burns, MD, Tanya Keeble, MD, Robert Maurer, PhD, and Erik Loraas, MD taught at AAAP 31st Annual Meeting and Scientific Symposium. "Reducing Treatment Inequity of Substance Use Disorders through Education."

November 2020

Sam Murray MD was awarded a 2021 Community Investment Partnership Award of 15k for an Awareness Campaign for Early Psychosis Program

Amy Burns MD was awarded a 2021 Community Investment Partnership Award of 13k for a Contingency Management Adjunctive Treatment Program

National workshops and posters accepted for 2021

Shane Rall MD, presented his poster titled "Strategies for Improving Metabolic Monitoring in Outpatient Psychiatry Patients on Second Generation Antipsychotics" at AAP 2020 and this work was accepted at APA Meeting 2021

William Lehecka DO, presented his poster titled "Increasing Community Service Participation in Psychiatry Residents at SHMC to Enhance Community Cohesion and Overall Well Being" at AAP Meeting 2021

AADPRT 2021 workshop: "Struggling with faculty recruitment and retention? Let us help you!" Tanya Keeble MD, Deb Cowley MD and Bill Sanders DO.

AAP 2021 workshop: “Keep Calm and Collaborate on…… strategies to embed integrated care rotations into residency training.” Tanya Keeble, MD; Amy Burns MD; Lucas Salg MD; Jessica Whitfield MD; Ramanpreet Toor MD

AAP 2021 workshop: “Choose Your Own Adventure: An Interactive Didactic” Justin Faden, DO, Ruby Barghini, MD, Rashi Aggarwal MD, Tanya Keeble, MD

Current National and Regional Psychiatric Committee Participation

APA Region 7 Representative: Jane Phelps Tschang, MD

WSPA President: Erik Loraas, MD

WSPA Resident Representatives: Danny Yang, MD, Savannah Patterson, MD

Past Participation:

WSPA Education Chair: Tanya Keeble, MD

WSPA Resident Representative: Cody Fritts, MD